I drank the tea, and I liked it.

This was never the way I planned
Not my intention
I got so brave, drink in hand
Lost my discretion…
day-17-135

I drank the tea, and I liked it.

That’s obviously the most important news to report at this point, considering my long, uphill struggle against tea-likeage, but I can safely say that I am committed to being on the (tea) wagon for the foreseeable future.

When I went to this adorable tea shopday-17-123

across from Kew Gardens with Grace, Tyler, Colin, and Annie (friends from home, give or take a thousand miles) on Saturday, I picked Darjeeling tea based partly on curiosity and mostly on my love of the movie The Darjeeling Limited. After mistakenly pouring myself a cup of the hot water they give you to refill the pot of tea, I poured me a cuppa, put in two lumps (but no milk, alas, I’m not authentically English-y in tea consumption) and drank a sip, andLO AND BEHOLD very much enjoyed it. I even had a second cup.

You’re impressed, I know, but please, could you hold your applause? You’re making me blush.

Backtracking a bit though, I took the train from Egham into London Waterloo. The trip reminded me a lot of riding the Long IslandRail Road or NJ Transit. It was the same kind of commuter train type set up. Except for the part (Twickenham, I believe) where we sat in the station for a few minutes, and then started going backwards in what seemed like the way we came. I’m assuming it wasn’t actually the same because I did make it to London (whew).

It was an action packed day for sure. Crepes at Borough Market, a walk along the south bank of the Thames and across the Millenium bridge (while singing “Way Down Upon the Tha-ames River, of course), tuppence (a bag) at St. Paul’s, a mysterious monument or two, Kew Gardens, a walk 60 feet in the air around the treetops, tea, a pub, and a crash course in spending ages and ages on the underground.

Speaking of the tube, here are some thoughts I have on it:

1. I never realized it was actually so…tube-like (I know, duh, right?). But I guess I always just thought of it as a cute name for the subway.

2. It is surprisingly (shockingly even) clean. The tracks looked like tracks and not like a garbage dump (I’m looking at you, 96th/42nd!)

3. The seats are plush/padded, and there are arm rests!

4. There is a transport authority person at every entrance/exit by the turnstiles that will help you and swipe you through when your card mysteriously doesn’t work at all (unlike MTA station agents, who, if they are present, would probably say too bad get a new one).

London day was followed by the superbly successful (though rainy) Surrey Day on Sunday, in which I attempted to recreate (on the cheap) the tour of Windsor we got the 1st weekend. As in we stood outside the castle gates (too expensive to go in) while I tried to remember about pomegranates and keeps and the Order of the Garter.

We also went around to the Long Walk, which I did not get to visit the last time.day-17-004

This is where the queen (or one of her minions) walks her corgis and occasionally goes riding. It stretches about three miles from the castle, through Windsor great park “to the 1829 Copper Horse statue of King George III on Snow Hill, where there are impressive views of the castle” (thanks, Wikipedia). 

And finally!day-17-0071

The sun came out! So we obviously had to take a moment to bask.

Check out more photos in my London is Kew(l) album.

If only Surrey Day could be a real holiday, just like September Day.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “I drank the tea, and I liked it.”

  1. Uncle Vince Says:

    Cor blimey, that’s more fun than a human should be allowed to have.

  2. hannah Says:

    Hhaha now that sing is going to be stuck in my head. The tea version of course!

  3. Alex Says:

    Leonore, I just wanted to express how much I enjoy your blog — it’s really great because besides just being generally fun, you write about a lot of stuff I’ve done or been to, but have never taken the time to write about. It’s kind of like having my own blog, but you do all the writing for me, and I can just enjoy the final product 🙂

    Keep up the good work!

  4. Meryl Says:

    hannah’s got the better version in mind.

    the nard misses you.
    as does my frozen yogurt famished belly.

Leave a Reply

