Londonlondonlondonlondon. London.

day-10-0221That’s me, hardly able to contain my “Ohemgee I’m in London!” excitement. It happens to be in front of a picturesque spot (Buckingham Palace) but I promise you, I was walking around like that for most of the time we were there.

So now I’ve been to London. I guess I can go home now.

Just kidding. It was like a Reader’s Digest version of a Reader’s Digest article kind of trip. We had a bit of a drive around town on the bus, hitting some highlights like Ben Big, Houses of Parliament, Westminister, London Eye, St. Paul’s, the South Bank, Harrod’s, Tate Modern, National History Museum, Prince Albert’s museum, and a bunch of other stuff I’m probably forgetting. We also walked around Buckingham Palace, through St. James’s Park and the Horse Guard, to Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery.

There was a huuuge protest over what’s happening in Gaza. Apparently it’s been going on for awhile, so it was a bit tense. Lots of extra police, though it seemed mostly ok overall, not too rowdy, but still, it was kinda harshing my mellow/enjoyment of the sites.

Then we sprinted through the Gallery (we stopped at 10 paintings max) and ate a hearty English meat and potatoes dinner at a nearby pub before heading to the East End for a super creepy Jack the Ripper tour. The winds were howling, sign posts squeaking, and there was even an aptly timed scream from an undisclosed location. Overall though, I don’t really understand people’s fascination with it. Most of the tour was like “See that car park? Well there used to be a doss house there that this prostitute stayed at, only she didn’t have enough money this one FATEFUL NIGHT so she got killed in a really gruesome way that I’m going to read aloud to you from the police report.”

What started as a BEAUTIFUL sunny and bright dayday-10-004

ended in the rain (of course) with all of us huddled around hearing about serial killerz. Nice. Fingers crossed that I dream about the queen and not murdered prostitutes.

I’ve added more pictures to the end of this album, and you can check out the full London 1.0 chronicle right here.

Tomorrow=homework like whoa!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

